Type Setter

I love a nice font. Being a graphic designer I am abit of a geek about type, and have been known to get very excited about a particularly pretty letter ‘e’. I have a lovely collection of vintage wooden letterpress letters, which look great sitting next to each other on my shelf, and the idea is that I can use them to actually print stuff one day.

Typography seems to be everywhere at the moment, so I tend to go for items that are a little bit different. These are the things I want to be sitting happily in my flat – I don’t think I can afford to get all of them – maybe just one for now (or two?)

Image

I have this Ampersand cork board from Cox and Cox on my wish list – think it’ll look great behind my desk (available from them mid-April).

Image

And this old 50’s gas station number would look great as an oversized door number. It’s from Accessory Addiction’s great shop on Etsy

ImageImage

My boyfriend used to live in Brighton so he would appreciate this font map of Brighton, and it makes me happy for it’s delicate use of type. It’s made by Unlimited, a Brighton based graphic design agency. You can buy their stuff and other lovely artwork on their website, unlimited editions.

Image

ImageImage

Last up is this subtle and fun A range by Alex – a series of furniture based on two interlocking A’s. I would like the coat stand please!

Good typography doesn’t have to just be on paper!

6 thoughts on “Type Setter

  1. That map is awesome – I wish I had enough spare cash for the limited gold version! So true that typography isn’t just for paper, and these products are a great way to ease people into noticing type more!

Leave a Reply

