Sitting Pretty

Out of all my furniture loves, I love chairs the most. Especially mid century ones – I could spend a lifetime searching Ebay for an Eames Rocker that I can afford. But you just never know when and where you might get lucky, so I have a wish list of the top 6 iconic chairs I would love to own. And here they are in all their mid century gorgeousness…

RAR – Charles & Ray Eames, 1950. 

I want one. I don’t even care in which colour! Available from Vitra

 

Standard Prouve Chair

Standard – Jean Prouvé, 1934.

So simple and so lovely. Great colours now too, Available from Vitra

 

DCW Eames Chair

DCW – Charles & Ray Eames, 1945.

The organic shape and warmth of the wood invites people to sit down and relax. Available from Vitra

 

CH24 Wishbone chair – Hans Wegner for Carl Hansen, 1949.

I’d love these as my dining chairs, especially in orange. Hans Wegner Furniture by Carl Hansen

 

Egg chair – Arne Jacobsen, 1958.

This classic chair was designed by Jacobsen for the Radisson SAS Hotel in Copenhagen. You can still stay in Room 606 of the hotel which features the original decor. Yes please!

 

Windsor Love Seat Ercol

Windsor Love Seat – Ercol, 1956.

This pretty bench is now available with a bang up to date paint job – a blue ombre-lacquered seat. It’s manufactured in the UK from solid beech and elm. Have a look at Anthropologie.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sitting Pretty

  1. One of my fav subjects!! my top 5…..

    1.Shell Chair – Wans Wagner
    2.Wishbone – Wans wagner
    3.LCW chair – Charles & Ray Eames
    4.Slab Chair – Tom Dixon
    5.Eames Aluminium group – Charles & Ray Eames

    I could easily go on 🙂

Leave a Reply

