White with a pop of yellow

We are currently redoing our bathroom. I roped in my wonderful Dad who came to stay for four days to help us sort out all the initial daunting prep bits. As I mentioned in my previous post, Bathroom blues, the bath was sinking into the floor. So for the last few months the three-legged bath has been propped up on bits of wood, with us tentatively stepping into it every day hoping it won’t collapse into the ground. Luckily our flat is basement so we wouldn’t fall too far.

So far, Dad and Stuart have replaced the wet, rotten joists and the floorboards in the bathroom and hallway, removed the horrible marble tiles from the walls, and ripped out the bath and shower. The have set up the plumbing for the new bath and shower, and it’s ready for tiling. The tiles I have ordered are arriving Saturday. I am a bit of a perfectionist so it’s best if I do the tiling, then it’s only myself I can shout at if it goes wrong. I have tiled a bathroom once before and it did actually bring me to tears (and not of happiness!)

The new bathroom will be white with a pop of yellow (and perhaps a hint of grey) – I can’t wait until it’s finished and I can post some proper before and after pictures. For now, here are some images that will keep me going whilst I am knee deep in tile adhesive…wish me luck.

yellow tiled inset

Image: Design Sponge

Image: The Guardian

white bathroom yellow mirror

Image: Rachel Whiting

white bathroom yellow eames rocker

Image: House to Home

yellow bathroom tiles

Image: Form

 

3 thoughts on “White with a pop of yellow

  1. I am generally not a fan of yellow (even though it was my Grandma’s favourite color) but it’s been growing on me since I missed out on a retro round yellow formica kitchen table on Kijiji. I am still thinking about that table. It’s a nice refreshing pop of colour that’s different from the usual neutral tones. Can’t wait to see your bathroom!

Leave a Reply

