Growing our own – mouse melons

For my first year of growing our own veg, I wanted to try to grow some more unusual things alongside the more standard UK produce. I read about Mouse Melons in The Urban Kitchen Gardener: Growing and cooking in the City, and thought they sounded interesting. They are native to Mexico and Central America, so I wasn’t sure how they’d get on with our English climate, but I bought some seeds online in the Spring, started them off in my little greenhouse and then planted them in a container in the garden. I made a cane structure for them to grow up. They climb really quickly and are really pretty, delicate plants.

Image: Grow Eat

Part of my mouse melon harvest

They taste similar to a melon and a cucumber, with a hint of lemon, but they’re really small (hence the name!) We ate some last night in a salad and they are so tasty. Apparently you can pickle them too. The plants have no pests or disease. They grew really well in our garden, even considering our terrible wet summer. They don’t take up much space so you could grow them on a small balcony or patio. I love them!

No-one I speak to in this country has heard of these tiny little gems, but I urge you to grow them if you haven’t already. And if you have, how did you get on..?

 

Tiny robot vs tiny mouse melon – just because I could.

2 thoughts on “Growing our own – mouse melons

Leave a Reply

